First lines of English Poems

The concluding post of the January beginnings includes the first lines of favorite poems from the British Isles.   Again a thanks to my high school English teachers, especially the wonder that was Norma Jordan, a woman who like Eleanor Rigby, kept her face in a jar by the door.  Never have I seen someone wear such heavy makeup, but what a teacher. 

I wandered lonely as a cloud
William Wordsworth

Do not go gentle into that good night
Dylan Thomas

Tyger, Tyger, burning bright
William Blake

O wild West Wind, thou breath of Autumn’s being,
Percy Bysshe Shelley

If I should die, think only this of me:
That there’s some corner of a foreign field
That is for ever England.
Rupert Brooke

When in disgrace with fortune and men’s eyes
I all alone beweep my outcast state,
William Shakespeare

In Xanadu did Kubla Khan
A stately pleasure dome decree
Samuel Coleridge

April is the cruellest month
T.S. Eliot

The sea is calm tonight.
Matthew Arnold

There are strange things done in the midnight sun
By the men who moil for gold
Robert w. Service

1 Response to “First lines of English Poems”


  1. 1 thebalilama August 21, 2013 at 3:59 am

    I was just having a Facebook conversation with a friend who was in Norma Jordan’s class with me [we are class of ’66]. We both loved her. I Googled her to see what I could find and your post came up. She did wear make up and she was a Teacher with a capital T.
    Thank you for your post


Leave a Reply

