The end of November

pa160043.jpgThe last week of November is upon us.    I spent last week in Arizona.  Not my choice for a Thanksgiving location, but family dictates it.  Too dry, dusty, and bare for me, but being with those I love and sharing food, wine, music and stories made it just right. I spoke with friends in the Midwest whose children spent Thanksgiving morning making snow angels.  Think I’d rather look at the cactus, than slide around the icy streets. 

My pumpkins and mums that are sitting next to the red door are still are looking good, but I’m itching to replace them with something more winterlike.  I saw this lovely pot at a local winery (of course).  I think it would make a nice winter arrangement to replace the mums and pumpkins.

I’ve started compiling my winter music lists.  I’ll do a separate Christmas list later.  There are so many choices that I wanted to limit this year’s list to a nice blend of upbeat sounds of  seasonal joy, nostalgia, and some good winter storm music.  I’ve divided the list into two parts:  classical and pop.  Here are my choices for classical. 

Lieutenant Kije Suite, Op. 60: IV. Troika (Prokofiev)

Concerto for Violin in F minor, Op. 8 no 4/RV 297 “L’inverno” (Vivaldi))

Serenade no 13 in G major, K 525 “Eine kleine Nachtmusik”: 2nd movement, Romanza (Mozart )

 Préludes (12) for piano, Book I, L. 117 Footprints in the Snow (Debussy )

 Symphony No. 9 “From the New World” – 2nd movement-Adagio  (Dvorak)

0 Responses to “The end of November”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

