Saving Thanksgiving #3

“Beglückt darf nun dich, o Heimat, ich schauen und grüssen froh deine lieblichen Auen; nun lass ich ruhn den Wanderstab, weil Gott getreu ich gepilgart hab!”

“Blest, I may now look on thee, oh my native land, and gladly greet thy pleasant pastures; now I lay my pilgrim’s staff aside to rest because, faithful to God, I have completed my pilgrimage.”  “The Pilgrims’ Chorus” from Wagner’s Tannhauser

harvest.jpg

 Today is the last of the music playlists for Thanksgiving.  This one is secular, but as with “The Pilgrims’ Chorus” faith seems never too far from thankfulness. I tried to include a selection of different styles of music which should appeal to someone sitting around your table this holiday.  Just don’t sing with your mouthful! Today’s Thanksgiving art is Van Gogh’s Harvest.  A wonderful sense of bounty in the French countryside.

 

Thanksgiving Playlist

  • “I’ve Got Plenty of Nothing” from Porgy and Bess by George Gershwin
  • “Thank You” by Sly and the Family Stone
  • “All Good Gifts” from Godspell by Stephen Schwartz
  • “Amazing Grace” by Aretha Franklin
  • “I’ve Got Plenty to be Thankful For” by Bing Crosby
  • “Thank You” by Tori Amos
  • “Be Thankful for What You Got” by Yo La Tengo
  • “Thanksgiving Theme (Peanuts)” by Vince Guaraldi Trio
  • “Stuffy Turkey” by Thelonious Monk
  • “Mayflower Rock” by Dizzy Gillespie
  • “Thank You” by Ray Davies
  • “Thank You” by Led Zeppelin
  • “Cornucopia” by Black Sabbath
  • “Thanksgiving” by Loudon Wainwright III
  • “Kind and Generous” by Natalie Merchant
  • “Homeward Bound” by Simon and Garfunkel
  • “Turkey in the Straw” by Flatt and Scruggs
  • “Thanksgiving Song” by Adam Sandler
  • “Thank You” by Dido
  • “Thanksgiving”  by George Winston

cjlhlm.jpgWhen it comes to great music, there’s always room for Wagner.  Of course, once I introduced my children to “The Pilgrims’ Chorus,” I felt honor bound to follow it up with a showing of “What’s Opera, Doc?”  I just can’t think of Wagner without thinking of Bugs Bunny in his Brunhilde costume.  Completely destroys the beauty of the moment.” Elmer: Oh, Bwunehiwda, you’re so wuvwee.”Bugs: “Yes I know it, I can’t help it.” Elmer: “Weturn, my wove / A wonging burns deep inside me.” Bugs: “Return, my love / I want you always beside me.”

It’s  akin to when you learned the camp song, “Be kind to your web footed friends, for a duck may be somebody’s brother” before you were old enough to know it was John Phillp Sousa.  Don’t get me started on the Lone Ranger and Rossini or Chopin sonatas and funerals.   Now that I’ve got that out of my system, back to Thanksgiving. 

1 Response to “Saving Thanksgiving #3”


  1. 1 retro November 17, 2007 at 10:49 pm

    This year my wife decided to have a dry run thanksgiving day to test out her recipes. We soaked the bird in a brine solution she got at William Sonoma it really kept it moist. OMG, the turkey was so good and I get to do it again in a few days!


Leave a Reply

