I Madonnari Art Festival

This was the weekend of the beautiful I Madonnari Italian street art festival in San Luis Obispo.  Using chalk, artists create works of art on the blacktop streets around the San Luis Mission. Artist’s ChalkThe festival is a charity event (see link) which supports children’s art.  Nice to see someone is.   I hear they don’t have a fill-in-the-bubble test about the  arts as part of the No Child Left Behind Act. Too bad, it might help protect arts education in our schools.

 

farsideThe festival featured everything from Farside cartoons to Diego Rivera. It was a windy day and every so often a cloud of multicolored chalkdust would waft over the onlookers.  I went on Saturday and Sunday to watch the artists work and then to see the finished projects.

PFLAGMy personal favorite was hosted by the local PFLAG chapter and was a celebration of all things rainbow.  It was so joyful and such an amazing use of color.  Here is a series of shots of one of the images as it developed over the two days.  Bellissima!

chalk1 chalk2 p9160030.jpg

3 Responses to “I Madonnari Art Festival”


  1. 1 jif September 24, 2007 at 4:37 am

    Hi, great photos and description! I found your site through a link that came to visit my site. I happened to be at the festival tooo! Just put up one photo of the event today and may post more.

    Take care,

    jenj

  2. 2 potter January 13, 2010 at 6:00 am

    I used a photograph of yours, the box of chalk, and wanted to double check that that was ok with you even though it wasn’t protected. I love it! Thanks, ans let me know!


Leave a Reply

